The Wolf Connection

15 12 2013

Wolves are interesting animals. I am serendipitously finding many connections with them during this pregnancy.

Wolves are among some of the only mammals who are monogamous. They also are extraordinarily skilled at communicating through facial expressions (compared with other animals).

In ancient Rome, childless women would attend the festival of Lupercalia (lupe = wolf) in the hopes of achieving fertility. Women would also go to be whipped during the feast, partly on the promise that childbirth pain would be eased.


On a personal note, my expected arrival comes at the time this festival would happen (mid-February). I also discovered that my baby is due on the full moon.

In the Middle Ages in Europe, wolf-derived ingredients were used to try to ease pain in childbirth.

Before any of this knowledge or this dream, we decided on a name for our baby that has a wolf meaning. I also now come to the realization that that had been my second werewolf dream (that I can recall) in this pregnancy. One earlier I had was very cinematic in which I was somebody else (a man), fighting werewolves, I had made some mistakes and had cowardly let some of my friends get killed, and seemed to maybe become a werewolf by the end of the dream. I was happy, redeemed, and the “bad guys” were gone.

Now, just for fun, What if Women Gave Birth Like Wolves?

  • “A healthy woman is much like a wolf: robust, chock-full, strong life force, life-giving, territorially aware, inventive, loyal, roving.”  – Clarissa Pinkola Estes, Women Who Run With The Wolves
  • “Like in childbirth,” Megan said. “Women can give birth in fear or they can give birth free like wolves.”
  • Pregnant women will begin to remember their relationship with the wild feminine, which has been totally neglected and outlawed by culturally acceptable ways of giving birth, and no longer understood. Pregnant women may have forgotten this calling, but in their bones they know it. The wolf archetype is ultimately the track they want to follow to give birth.

And, Wolves by Strangers, “The Miracle”

  • When you really stop to think about it, the very notion that two individual beings can come together and create a new life that is wholly separate and independent from either of them is truly beyond words. I would not trade my place as a male, but I sometimes jealously wonder what it must feel like to experience the creative and selfless power that resides in giving life to another through birth.
  • I do think that if we value the process of our procreation and view it in a similar light to that of animals, we may learn to have a deeper love and respect for the creatures that we share our planet with.
  • I know that there is no bond that truly compares to that of a human mother and child… but to consider the wolf mother… to know that she as well has held her young ones in her belly… to realize that she as well would die for her young… would kill for them… would do anything to protect them… surely this counts for something.
  • >UPDATE: We gave birth in late February, unexpectedly to a girl. 🙂 She did not receive a wolf name. Here is the birth necklace from myself and friends. 100_7764


Actions

Information

One response

19 02 2015
When You Don’t Want to be Pregnant Anymore… | theperfectbirth

[…] remember about a year ago today I was wondering just how “overdue” my baby would be. “He” had already […]

Give Your 2 Cents

